AU Track & Field Dots USTFCCCA Academic Awards

AU Track & Field Dots USTFCCCA Academic Awards


As announced by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) on Monday (July 22) afternoon, Ashland University's men's and women's track and field program combined for several 2019 academic awards.

The Eagle women garnered a 2019 USTFCCCA All-Academic Team selection in NCAA Division II, thanks to a 3.22 team cumulative grade-point average. This is the 14th time Ashland's women have earned All-Academic Team distinction (2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006 and 1998).

Nine Ashland women and six AU men qualified for USTFCCCA All-Academic awards:

WOMEN – Gianna DiPippo (3.43), Natalie Helenthal (3.57), Ellie Jindra (3.55), Mackenzie Leigh (3.46), Makayla Pop (3.47), Tiffany Pryce (3.61), Romi Smith (3.82), Elizabeth Weimer (3.86), Paula Wollenslegel (3.58).

MEN – Trevor Bassitt (3.45), Brayden Chaney (3.46), Danny Friebel (3.69), Alex Hill (3.35), Jim Toth (3.70), Nick Zak (3.58).

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic award, student-athletes must have compiled a cumulative GPA of 3.25 and have reached a provisional or automatic qualifying standard for the NCAA Championships in either the indoor or outdoor season.