Asmus Named 2019 NCAA Woman Of The Year Conference Honoree

Asmus Named 2019 NCAA Woman Of The Year Conference Honoree



In June, Ashland University senior first baseman Kylie Asmus was one of a record 585 nominees for the 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year award.

On Monday (July 29), Asmus was named one of 149 conference-level honorees for the Woman of the Year honor after conference offices reviewed all nominees from their member schools.

Asmus was in her third season as a starter at first base for the Eagles in 2019, finishing her senior campaign hitting .313 with 24 runs scored, 14 doubles, three triples, a home run, 33 RBIs, a .428 slugging percentage and just seven strikeouts in 201 at-bats. In her Ashland career, Asmus was a .330 hitter, and compiled 69 runs scored, 174 hits, 33 doubles, four triples, five home runs, 74 RBIs and 11 stolen bases.

Asmus was named the AU Class of 2019 valedictorian, and graduated in May with a 4.0 cumulative grade-point average as an Exercise Science major. She was a second-team College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-American and Academic All-District in 2018, was a two-time second-team All-Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference selection, and twice earned All-GLIAC Academic Excellence honors.

Established in 1991, the NCAA Woman of the Year award recognizes graduating female college athletes who have exhausted their eligibility and distinguished themselves in academics, athletics, service and leadership throughout their collegiate careers.

According to the NCAA, conference-level nominations will be forwarded to the NCAA Woman of the Year Selection Committee, which will choose the top 10 honorees in each of the three NCAA divisions. The NCAA will announce the Top 30 honorees on in early September.

From among those 30 candidates, the selection committee determines the top three finalists in each division. The NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics will select the 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year from the nine finalists.

The 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year will be announced at an awards dinner in Indianapolis on Oct. 20.