Owens Earns Honorary Member Status At AFCA Convention

Owens Earns Honorary Member Status At AFCA Convention


Ashland University head football coach Lee Owens was named an Honorary Member of the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) on Monday (Jan. 8), during the AFCA Convention in Charlotte, N.C.

As an AFCA Honorary Member, Owens has lifetime membership to the AFCA, and access to all of its educational and coaching resources, as well as the opportunity to attend the annual AFCA Convention each January.

In 2017, Owens led the Eagles to an 11-2 record, a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference championship and the second round of the NCAA Division II playoffs. He was named AFCA NCAA Division II Region 3 Coach of the Year for the third time, and the GLIAC Coach of the Year for the fourth time.

As an AFCA regional Coach of the Year, Owens is a finalist for the 2017 D-II National Coach of the Year, which will be announced at the American Football Coaches Awards, presented by Amway, broadcast live on the USA TODAY Sports Facebook page, on Tuesday (Jan. 9) at 8 p.m.

In 14 seasons at Ashland, Owens is 109-46 (.703), has won three GLIAC championships and has made five D-II postseason appearances.

Owens is one of four new AFCA Honorary Members, along with Ad Rutschman (Linfield), Bill Snyder (Kansas State) and David Sokol (businessman).