Wilcox Named GLIAC’s 2017 McAvoy Award Winner

Wilcox Named GLIAC’s 2017 McAvoy Award Winner


Ashland University senior wide receiver Matthew Wilcox has been named the recipient of the 2017 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Jack H. McAvoy Award, as announced on Thursday (Nov. 16) afternoon by GLIAC Commissioner Kris Dunbar.

The McAvoy Award is presented annually to the GLIAC football player who best combines outstanding character and leadership on the field, in the classroom, and in the community. It has been awarded to at least one Midwest Intercollegiate Football Conference/GLIAC player every year since 1996.

A native of Ada, Ohio, Wilcox sports a cumulative grade-point average of 3.73 through the spring 2017 semester as an Exercise Science major. He is a two-time member of the GLIAC All-Academic Excellence Team (cumulative GPA 3.50-4.00), and earlier on Thursday, was named 2017 College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-District.

On campus and in the community, Wilcox is a three-year Fellowship of Christian Athletes Huddle Leader, took a mission trip to Chicontla, Mexico, in 2017, and in 2016, took a mission trip to the Dominican Republic, and earned both the Don Rinehart Award and the Humility Service to the Glory of God Award.

Wilcox has been accepted into the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine Class of 2022.

On the field this fall, Wilcox is Ashland's leading receiver, catching 37 passes for 707 yards (19.1-yard average) and five touchdowns. He finished the regular season fifth in the GLIAC in receptions, fourth in receiving yards and second in yards per catch.

In his three-year Eagle career, Wilcox has caught 77 passes for 1,754 yards (22.8-yard average) and 17 touchdowns. He is two receiving yards away from passing current National Football League tight end Adam Shaheen for 10th on Ashland's all-time list, and six yards away from passing Bill Seder for ninth place.

Wilcox is the second Ashland football player to receive the McAvoy Award, following fellow wide receiver Nick Bellanco in 2009. Only three current/former GLIAC schools have earned more – Ferris State (four), Hillsdale (three) and Northwood (three).

The McAvoy Award is named for former Hillsdale College director of athletics and head football coach Jack McAvoy, who was instrumental in the founding of the MIFC.