Fourteen Eagles Earn 2016 GLIAC Season-Ending Honors

Fourteen Eagles Earn 2016 GLIAC Season-Ending Honors



Fourteen Ashland University football players have earned postseason honors from the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, as the league's 2016 football postseason awards and all-conference teams were announced on Tuesday (Nov. 15) afternoon.

Six Eagles – senior tailback Vance Settlemire, junior tight end Adam Shaheen, senior right guard Zachary Douglass, senior nose tackle Brandon Ehlinger, senior safety Terrell Hudson and senior inside linebacker Brandon Gency – earned first-team All-GLIAC honors.

Settlemire ran for 925 yards and nine touchdowns, and caught 20 passes for 192 yards and another score, Shaheen set an NCAA Division II single-season tight end record with 16 touchdown catches while adding 57 grabs for 867 yards, Douglass graded out at 90 percent blocking with 95 knockdowns, Ehlinger had 22 total tackles (3½ for loss), a half-sack and a fumble recovery, Hudson recorded 67 total tackles (5½ for loss), an interception and a forced fumble and Gency racked up 76 total tackles (11½ for loss), 2½ sacks, an interception, two forced fumbles and a fumble-recovery touchdown.

Both junior quarterback Travis Tarnowski and senior stud Adam Wallace earned second-team All-GLIAC laurels. Tarnowski became AU's all-time leader in passing touchdowns, and in 2016, completed 64.6 percent of his passes for 2,989 yards, 34 touchdowns and six interceptions, and Wallace finished the fall with 39 total tackles (eight for loss), 6½ sacks and a fumble recovery.

Eagles earning spots on the honorable mention list were sophomore right tackle John Conner (87 percent blocking grade, 36 knockdowns, no sacks allowed), sophomore center Dominic Giunta (88 percent blocking grade, 101 knockdowns, no sacks allowed), senior punter/tight end Austin Bruns (42.0-yard punting average, three receiving touchdowns), junior cornerback/punt returner Dale Irby (one interception, one fumble recovery, 11.7-yard punt-return average), sophomore wide receiver Kamaron Green (38 catches, 496 yards, four touchdowns) and senior inside linebacker Zach Olszewski (73 total tackles, 4½ for loss, one sack, one fumble recovery and one forced fumble).