Owens Earns Regional Coach Of the Year Award

Owens Earns Regional Coach Of the Year Award

Ashland University head football coach Lee Owens has followed up his 2015 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Football Co-Coach of the Year award with another postseason honor, as he has been named the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Division II Region 3 Coach of the Year.

Owens led the Eagles to a 10-0 regular-season record and a 10-1 overall mark, including three home wins against nationally-ranked teams, and their fourth NCAA Division II postseason appearance in his 12 seasons. He also led AU to its highest-ever ranking of No. 3 in the AFCA Division II Top 25 poll.

Owens is 89-42 (.679) at Ashland, with a pair of GLIAC titles and three GLIAC Coach of the Year honors to his credit.

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association's five divisions - Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III and NAIA. The winners are selected by active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The 2015 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2016 AFCA Convention in San Antonio, Texas. The dinner is scheduled for Tuesday, Jan. 12.