Eagles Picked To Win GLIAC Baseball Title

Eagles Picked To Win GLIAC Baseball Title

The Ashland University baseball team was picked to win the GLIAC championship in the preseason coaches' poll the league announced on Friday (Feb. 8) morning.

The Eagles had a bounce-back season in 2018, finishing third in the GLIAC with a 16-12 record in league play. Ashland was 33-22 overall and qualified for its 15th NCAA Tournament in the 21-year tenure of head coach John Schaly.

Ashland has won five GLIAC titles under Schaly – in 2000, 2003, 2013, 2015 and 2016.

The Eagles return eight of their 10 regular position players from last season when they finished third in the GLIAC in runs scored. With a talented group of newcomers joining the returners, the Eagles figure to be deeper than in the recent past.

Ashland returns three All-GLIAC position players, including first team selection, junior DH/first baseman Carson Mittermaier, who hit .381 last season with four homers, 12 doubles and 50 RBI. He reached base at a .466 clip. Senior infielder Matt Littrell was a second team choice and sophomore infielder Austin Eifrid was named to the honorable mention list.

The entire weekend rotation is back from a season ago, led by All-GLIAC second team selection and preseason all-region standout Devin Peters. Peters was 8-5 with a 4.32 ERA last season while leading the GLIAC in strikeouts (98) and innings pitched (89 2/3). Junior Chance Hitchcock was named to the All-GLIAC second team after going 6-5 with a 4.50 ERA with 79 strikeouts in 86 innings.

Ten of the top 12 pitchers as far as innings pitched are back on the squad this season, including senior Chris Slavik and sophomore Josh Stover, who each held down rotation slots last year.

The Eagles will begin their season Feb. 23 with a doubleheader against Rockhurst and Trevecca Nazarene in Nashville, Tenn. The home season commences March 13 against Tiffin.

The full GLIAC preseason coaches' poll follows. 

Team (First-Place Votes) Points
1. Ashland (4) 44
2. Northwood (3) 43
3. Davenport (1) 37
4. Grand Valley State 33
5. Wayne State 28
6. Saginaw Valley 17
7. Purdue Northwest 13
8. Parkside 9