Student-Athlete Advisory Committee

Ashland University is proud to be a participant in the Division II National SAAC.


The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee is a committee made up of student-athletes assembled to provide insight on their experience. The group also offers input on the rules, regulations and policies that affect student-athletes' lives on NCAA member institution campuses. -


Our mission as the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee is to enhance the Student-Athlete experience by providing opportunity for personal growth, and to promote continued conversation between our student-athletes, AU’s athletic department, and the NCAA. SAAC strives to develop and maintain a positive student-athlete image, and to build a sense of community throughout all of AU’s 23 varsity sports.  


2018-19 S.A.A.C. Officers

President Vice President Secretary
Jay Slone Nick Bapst Emily Schumaker


2018-19 S.A.A.C. Roster


Ryan Curtis

Vince Vanata   

Chance Hitchcock


Men's Basketball

Jay Slone

Nick Bapst

Ben Haraway   

Colin Nieberding


Women's Basketball

Maddie Dackin 

Hallie Heidemann

Jodi Johnson    

Sara Loomis     

Karlee Pireu

Sara Price

Kayla Sanders

Kelseigh Wright      



Chase Rowe

Gabriel Alonso



Nick Cone

Luke Crabtree  

Grant Denbow 

Jake Heath

Brandon May   

Colton Paul

Gavin Posey

Sam Puthoff     

Michael Schweitzer

Scott Valentine            


Men's Golf

Brent Dillon

Ben Jones

Jace Ruggerio   


Women's Golf

Claire Coughenour

Sophie Hemleben         

Logan Pottorf   


Men's Cross Country/Track and Field

Jim Toth

Kyle Shively                              

Noah Stubenbrauch

Nick Reimund

Tyler Sievert


Women's Cross Country/Track and Field

Lindsay Baker

Emily Schumaker

Tracy Morgan

Haylee Zigan

Maureen McKeown

Lexi Butterbaugh  


Women's Lacrosse

Lauren Taylor

Alex Newcomer

Renee Ruppert 

Sofia Michael   


Women's Soccer

Hannah Lee     

Sam Malleo

Deijah Swihart 

Abby Grzetic  

Jackie Clegg

Hannah Riddle 

Stephanie Slader

Hannah Simard

Ellie Bowers  



Katie Manahan

Camille Pollutro

Kayla Troyer

Jamie Rutherford

Hallie Bennett  

Emma Lawson


Men's Swimming and Diving

Peter Reventlow

Panos Nikakis   

Jacob Keilholz


Women's Swimming and Diving

Jessica Zaper    

Abigail Ellsworth

Cat Darnell


Men's Tennis

Tche Kun Teng

Chase Williams


Women's Tennis

Brianna Brdicka       

Allison Brooks



Bret Romanzak

Tristen Weirich



Kaitlin Bean




"Since beginning its alliance with Make-A-Wish in 2003, Division II has raised more than $3.5 million toward granting the wishes of children with life-threatening medical conditions. More than 470 “wishes” have been granted through Division II contributions. These wishes can serve as a game changer in children’s fights against their illnesses, helping them feel better, and in some cases even get better." -

Led by the Division II Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, Division II schools partner with the Make-A-Wish foundation to raise funds nation wide for the organization.

In 2015-16 the Ashland University S.A.A.C. has marked a goal to raise $5,000 for the Make-A-Wish foundation.